hey – there’s a baby here!

it’s been a few weeks – I do apologize. in my defense, I was a little busy. you know, having a baby [see adorable cuteness below]:

one of the first photos! forgive the lack of clarity – I was the photographer, and not quite with it yet

this is a few days in [like, two]. darn it if he’s not freakin’ adorable

the last I posted, I was a bit down, and through the writing process, realized how blessed I was. then, I had this li’l guy, and I discovered that I was even more blessed than I knew. this kiddo is making me melt!

the labor wasn’t too bad. ish. maybe one day I’ll write about it for the public. [I have journaled about it, but we’ll see how much of that is released!] I know for some, they’re eager to hear how it all went down. others [if they’re at all like R], throw up at the thought of labor. so I’ll keep it short. we thought we were going to have a baby Tuesday night. fortunately, I decided to wait an additional hour after my contractions had picked up, to make sure it was the real deal. I’m glad, because they were not at all the ‘real-deal’ and I would have wasted a perfectly good drive down to the hospital. I had an appointment with my midwife at noon the next day; she confirmed that I was in the midst of early labor, and thought based on all the information, that we’d have him by that evening. I agreed – and we were both right. boom. proof right there for the power of thought making things happen!

long story short, I had a baby that night. like I said, I’ll probably write it up at some point to fill in the details. we were certainly loved on by family & friends, both those at the hospital and not. my sister, M, had been in the delivery room, helping both myself and R stay focused and being a true cheerleader at the end. my parents and brother were there, eagerly awaiting the arrival of their second grandson/nephew. my mother-in-law awesomely watched S the day we went to the hospital, and the following two days of staying at Overland Park Regional. she brought S down the next day to check out her new brother.

yes, this is a shot from the house, not the hospital. apparently I was not with it at all and have zero from the hospital. I’m working on rectifying that situation. on another note, look at that proud, big sister grin!

 

this little girl is definitely a fan of her li’l bro! she is head over heels with him, that’s for sure – and he is a fan of her, too! [as much as he can, anyway] he locks into her voice and face the instant she’s in a room. adorable.

we came home that Friday, and have settled in quite nicely. he is the inverse of S in so many ways – isn’t it awesome and interesting how 1 day old babies have a distinct personality that rears itself up? S struggled to stay awake to eat, to the point that the hospital staff wanted us to supplement nursing with formula. but on the flip side, we never had trouble getting her to sleep. this kid = exact opposite. he eats on a rhythm that impressed the staff at the hospital [and me, after we left!] but you want this kid to sleep by himself? hahahaha. you’re hilarious. most of the time, he snuggles with a family member or myself. and crashes in our bed at night. a bit part of it is because he loves to have his pacifier in, but can’t control it. so most of his sleeping time is me pushing it back in so he can calm himself back down. [my arms & back are currently sighing.] I will say, we have begun the process of getting him away from me and/or our bed for sleep. [I never, ever would have thought I’d be co-sleeping with my infant – just goes to show that parenting is a fluid mix of decisions not based on any particular parenting style. mostly, it’s based on survival. at least, for the first six weeks.] once we get moved and settled, we’ll work on it hardcore. in the meantime, I won’t lie – I’m enjoying the snuggles. S hated to sleep/sit/snuggle with anyone, so I’ll eagerly take it from him.

time certainly flies. he’ll be three weeks tomorrow. it seems like only yesterday, and yet so long ago, since I’ve had him. [I feel the same about S, though, and that’s been 4 years now – eek!]. and while I enjoy certain aspects of newborns, I’ll be eager to return to full nights of uninterrupted sleep. I look forward to a better emotional interactions – they just get so fun when they’re giggling and cooing. though, this is pretty darn cute, too:

oh yeah

3 thoughts on “hey – there’s a baby here!

  1. Cut yourself a lot of slack, Mama. It’s a tough and beautiful thing to have a newborn. Hope that life in SC won’t be too rough without family and whatnot down there. Rosie DeCock

Leave a Reply

