photo bomb!

in the past, I uploaded all my photos of the family through facebook. I certainly have a love/hate relationship with said social network. it’s certainly nice to be able to keep in touch with folks [especially with the impending move]; I like being able to hyperlink items [including this blog]; and I have to recognize that it has infiltrated society, given that everyone has it, and you certainly are missing out in some aspects of life if you don’t have an account.

on the other hand, facebook likes to think they own everything you upload to their site. because, well, they do. [they also like to think their e-mail is so bad-a that they removed your chosen e-mail from your settings and have given you a new one – so, you know … there’s that]. I’ve decided to circumvent them as much as possible. there is the occasional photo posted of G & S, but I’ll be shifting it to here from now on. without any further ado … photo bomb!

this photo is from a few weeks ago, but I thought it needed to be included. it’s just classic S – she’s having a blast in a park she loves. she’s also slightly demanding/asking girls she doesn’t know from anyone to twist her. and no, even after encouragement, she never asked their names. or said thank you. oh, manners – they will happen!

the applewhite fam has been enjoying the local dairy queen (especially post splash park – is there anything better on a hot summer day than the pool, the park, and ice cream? exactly) the cutie N is downing his delicious treat. and yes, the ground had more of it than his stomach. but he enjoyed it, for sure!

S, here enjoying her ice cream cone. in a cup. because that’s how she rolls.

the day before li’l G arrived – S was enamored with the iPads at the Apple Store. she immediately found a drawing app, and dug in. this is one creative & technologically savvy kiddo.

 

crashed! one of the few times he’s been on his own to sleep – it was adorable while it lasted

how do you not include this one? he’s apparently very excited about something. I mean, who wouldn’t be when wearing those overalls? I’m excited about them, anyway

back at the park! I include this because it shows her undying love of this toy (and no, I can’t even describe what it officially is – this place is out of the future space age). R & I have loved getting out, too, to walk and enjoy some nature. before it hit 100 degrees. we have lines, people, and we’re not crossing them.

even in the midst of the chaos of having a baby and moving and everyday life, I did finally sneak in for a haircut. as some have commented on, my hair is long. quite long, in fact, for me – I don’t think it’s been this long since I was little. I’ve found it’s surprisingly cheaper and not as hard to maintain as I was afraid it would be. I’m liking it

I promised photos! this latest addition to R’s forearm is in honor of his profession. as he studies communication and its affect on culture, his thoughts went a bit retro. the mic obviously represents what he so passionately studies; the flower ties his arm all together, given that his upper arm has a banyan tree & a river flowing down. the guy we see at Old Souls Tattoo is amazing – anyone in kansas city wanting a tattoo should head to the Crossroads District and check out his work.

here are some shots proving G does try to hold his head up – he’s not always a fan of the tummy time, but his neck is certainly getting stronger. his eyes and mouth are cracking me up here, too!

a shot from just today (he’s getting big!) I had my final appointment with my midwife, and brought li’l G along. he was a champ, sleeping for most of the drive and appointment (read: he was very full and very quiet!) he’s exactly six weeks today, and time has flown. his adorable-ness makes me melt.

 

in other, more boring news, we’re getting packed up. some friends of ours are having a garage sale, so we got motivated to sort through our own items and pass them along to them. I may have mentioned that before, but we can’t have anyone over anymore. mostly because there’s really nothing here to see! we’ve got some basics out, but not much else.

time will fly – next week, our out-of-town family comes in-town for the 4th of July. we then begin to prep for our final shindig at M & M’s place. and then, we pack. for real. R will drive out of town with everything we own; I’ll stay behind with my mom for a few days, and then go myself with the kiddos on an airplane, which will be less stressful for me and possibly entertaining for S.

it’ll go quick. I’ll go between sadness, anxiety, joy, contentment, and eagerness (and already have – mix that in with postpartum emotions – whew). we’ve been in limbo (both professionally and living-wise) for a long, long time. it just shows, you can’t have your cake and eat it too – we’re trading professional and financial security for the loss of family and friends in our hometown. but, as R keeps reminding me, we’re trading it for an incredible city (see my previous posts for proof!). and we’re eager to show off some Southern hospitality – feel free to come and visit. we’ll take you to crab shakes, local bars, and Folly Beach. it’ll be fantastic for all involved!

Leave a Reply

