a Mighty Milner renewal

“You are the storyteller of your own life, and you can create your own legend, or not.”

Isabel Allende

 

my last post began with “I might be taking a break” … R always jokes that phrase is the first sign of a dying blog taking its final, gasping breaths. maybe, maybe not. in his defense, it HAS been five months since I’ve written anything. oops.

I had a handful of reasons for not continuing on, at the moment anyway. I felt like maybe not a ton of people were necessarily reading, which maybe made me feel a little insecure. I wasn’t completely sure what I was writing for – was it for myself? for a “necessary” chronicling of our family’s events? for others? what did I want it to look like anymore? is it a photo diary, or a thoughtful pursual of my life? I’d hit a road block, and wasn’t sure what I wanted to say.

then, life hit the fast-forward button and things got cr-ah-zy. since May, the Mighty Milners have been in a state of travel craziness and/or survival on the home front, testing out “mightiness” a bit. I was so busy just trying to keep everyone alive, there would have been no time to write. of course, this is right when you would want something to cling to and focus on when so crazy busy. at the time, though, I felt like I was drowning in the everyday, mundane tasks that incessantly demanded my attention. the blog was the last thing on my mind.

since then, we’ve moved into a townhouse and are feeling significantly more settled in our hometown. we’re also gearing up for the fall; for work, and school for S. there’s so much happening now, and about to happen as we enter the world of official school, as li’l G continues to grow and not be so little, as I continue to get settled in this city we’re really beginning to dig into and live in. I’d hate to think or say that in the name of “being busy” I had no time for reflection or communication.

and there’s the reason[s] to come back and create a space for myself. all of the above reasons are valid to think through, and sort out, but they’re not reasons to quit writing. I love sharing our story with everyone; I love the act of writing; I love getting my thoughts sorted out and finding my voice in this loud, intense world. I hope you love following along, and seeing what we’re up to. I can’t wait to share the Mighty Milners thoughts, photos, & stories with all of you!

A61

this is what R likes to call our own “Wes Anderson” photo shoot – thanks to our fabulous friend for these amazing photos! [credit: Tabitha Todd]

Leave a Reply

