Just finish the job already!

This project has been waiting in the wings for far too long. Like, since this spring. Painters tape probably shouldn’t remain on an object for too, too long. And yet. There it is.

Sorry bookcase.

What I mostly feel bad about is Sophia. Every night, she goes to bed, looking straight at that bookcase, painters tape and all. I’m really not sure how she endured. I know Dr. M could not have. I’m guessing she takes after me in her lack of fastidiousness.

So, in the midst of an overdue knitting project, three books I should have finished, a crazy school week, blah blah blah, I decided to knock out the infamous bookcase. Sophia’s room is like this close to being done.

And, then … Gabe happened.

So, this is the bookcase before the walking disaster that is me getting distracted & my creative son finding easy access to a brush and paint.

IMG_3318.JPG

It is what is it … a bookcase that needed a second coat of paint and some edging. And then …

IMG_3321.JPG

Totally not cool.

If you saw me on Facebook, you knew I was not a happy camper. Saturday was a crap start. This just added the final cherry on it.

So, a job that should have taken a handful of hours with some dry time will take even more time. Whatevs. As Dr. M said, it’s an old Target bookcase getting a facelift anyway. You can always count on him to see the sunny side. Maybe by next week, I’ll have it done? *snort* We’ll see, friends, we’ll see.

Any DIY jobs gone awry? I’d love to here your stories! Post ’em below and happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

