Friday Reads: Outlander

School break begins in less than 2 hours, and I’m not sure who is more excited, Sophia or myself. Goodness, getting up early is the worst.

Not really. But give a pregnant girl some slack. Right now, in my narrow view, it’s the worst.

As of Saturday, I get to sleep in as long as Gabe cooperates and allows me to doze off on the couch. His internal alarm clock is set for 5:55 a.m. A bit early, but nothing Daniel Tiger can’t handle.

A break also means I can read without feeling guilty, and read I will. I’m wickedly late to this series. As in, I just heard about it two months ago and the first novel was published in 1991. I give myself some wicked grace here, though, as I was 6 years old. It’ll be fine.

Outlander.

Don't let this tame book cover fool you. You will not see the light of day until you've finished.

Don’t let this tame book cover fool you. You will not see the light of day until you’ve finished.

People, I just. I just can’t. It’s so good. I think I read the first one in a day. It’s a romance meets fantasy/time travel meets historical fiction. It’s amazing.

I easily have 10 or so novels checked out from the library. Forget it. All I’m reading is Outlander. And it’s subsequent seven following novels.

And there's a book nine! See, it's never too late to jump on a band wagon.

And there’s a book nine coming soon! See, it’s never too late to jump on a band wagon.

So far, I’ve finished Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, & Drums of Autumn. I just began The Fiery Cross. In, like two weeks. It’s ridiculous. The housework & laundry have barely been attended to, but I have Jamie & Claire.

Also, there’s a show, that aired on Starz this fall. Heaven help me, I downed the eight episodes in less than 48 hours. I may have stayed up until 2 a.m. on a couple of occasions. Both my head cold and pregnancy did not appreciate it, but how do you put it down?

The short answer: you don’t.

What books have been keeping you up late? I would love to hear!

Leave a Reply

